Alresford Town 4 Fleet Town 1

Fleet bowed out of this season’s North Hants Senior Cup at Alresford, in the end tamely despite a bright and promising start. Fleet started the stronger, and their pressure forced three corners in the first ten minutes. From another corner after 13 minutes, a goal line scramble saw Fleet claim a goal, getting the ball over the line before being cleared, the referee was not sure and consulted his assistant at that end and they decided the ball had gone over the line and awarded the goal to Greame Purdy. Six minutes later a dangerous Alresford attack was not cleared and up popped Ryan Green to head the equaliser in. After all the early attacking chances, the game stalled in a midfield battle, with the home side getting more of the ball a second goal looked on the cards when Ben White drove through the Fleet line but then skewed his shot wide. The game stayed level until the break.

Fleet had the worst possible start to the second half, when Alresford broke down the right and a perfect cross picked out the unmarked Sam Burt, who headed the ball home. Alresford continued to create the better chances, Ben White had another of his jinky runs down the left, when he cut in and shot, it brought a good save from Liam Beach who got down to collect the ball. At 2-1 down, Fleet still believed there could be a way back, then in a disasterous minute the game got away from them, firstly a defensive slip on 63 minutes, let in Craig Harding, who lobbed Liam and scored Alresford’s third. Within seconds of the restart Craig Harding collecte dthe ball and ran through Fleet and slotted the ball home to make the score 4-1. Fleet kept looking to get the ball forward but very few shooting chances fell their way, a couple of shots from Ashley Lloyd, but he only found keeper Kempson there to collect the ball. Into the final moments and an Alresford free kick was collected by Ben White, but his shot got blocked for a corner, then into added time Matt Bunyan had an opening but hit the ball straight at the keeper and it is Alresford Town who progress to the semi finals.


Fleet Town : 1 Liam Beach, 2 Chris Wales, 3 Callum Abraham-Barlow, 4 Ashley Lloyd, 5 Owen Roberts, 6 Chris Musgrove, 7 James Haworth, 8 Ryan Marklew, 9 Greame Purdy, 10 Michael Phillip-Ogbuogu, 11 Danilo Cadete.

subs 12 Matt Bunyan (on for Cadete 50 mins), 14 Billy Oram (on for Haworth 50 mins), 15 Ross Ewen (on for Wales 70 mins)