Fareham Town 1 Fleet Town 1

So the return to football came on a very cold, slightly foggy night on the south coast. Fleet travelled missing 5 first team players but put in a performance that equalled their high flying opponents. Ryan Bone replaced Harry Nash in goal and Matty Pearse played upfront.

The game started with both sides attacking and Fareham had a slight upper hand, although there were no real clear cut chances. Fleet took the lead when Matty Pearse chased down a through ball, the Fareham goalkeepers clearance was blocked by Matty and ball rolled into the net. This goal spurred Fleet on and they started to play some nice passing football which caused Fareham some problem. Fareham were however taxing the Fleet defence and gained an equaliser from the penalty spot. A mistimed tackle from Khalid Babikir put the Fareham striker on the floor. The penalty was dispatched off the underside of the bar, rather luckily. Just before half time the Fareham goalkeeper made a great safe from a Jack Howard shot after a Fleet break. Half-Time 1-1

The second half continued in a similar vein with both sides attacking for the win. Matty Pearse had a goal disallowed for offside and Leo Decarbo couldn’t quite put a finish to a break. In amongst these chances Fareham were putting pressure on the Fleet defence but whenever they broke through Ryan Bone was in exactly the right position to save or claim a cross. Yassa Arafat came on for Fleet in the second half, which seemed to cause great joy for the home fans. He nearly scored for Fleet with a shot that just trickled by the post. A very entertaining game finished with Jack Dansie coming off the bench for his debut. A draw was a fair result, both teams could have won, but it warmed up those of us freezing round the ground. Full-Time 1-1

Fleet: 1. Ryan Bone, 2. Dan Framp, 3. Tom Wensley, 4. Khalid Babikir, 5. Stuart Derry, 6. Dan Dansie, 7. Rowan Sharratt, 8. Jack Howard, 9. Matty Pearse, 10. Leo Decarbo, 11. Ralph Kazamazondo

Subs: 12. Stephane Akmet (6), 13. Harry Nash, 14. Jack Dansie (7), 15. Yassa Arafat (11), 16. Sean Hayes

Goals:  Matty Pearse (10)

Man of Match:   Ryan Bone

Attendance: 145