Fleet Town 1 Hamworthy United 4

Unfortunately Fleets eight match unbeaten run came to an end home to league leaders Hamworthy United. A number of team changes and a change in formation for Fleet did not bring the result they were hoping for.

As with many games at Calthorpe Park this season there was action from the start. An early Hamworthy United attack resulted in them being awarded a penalty after a foul by Charlie Graves. Luckily for Fleet the penalty was ballooned over the bar. Fleet found it hard to get into the game and it was dominated by the visitors who were attacking at will. Hamworthy’s first goal came after a scramble in the Fleet Box, which the home team couldn’t clear. Fleet pushed a bit more but couldn’t really make a chance and at the other end Hamworthy hit the bar. Half-time 0-1

Fleet changed back to their more traditional three at the back for the second half but almost straight away an error gifted Hamworthy a second goal. Goalkeeper Harry Nash tried to take the ball past a Hamworthy striker but failed leaving him with an open goal. Not the start to the second half Fleet really wanted. Things got worse when a second penalty was given away, this time Hamworthy made no mistake. A fourth goal came for Hamworthy from a well worked passing move. Fleet finally got on the board with an excellent curling freekick from Taylor Watts which went straight in the top corner. Full-time 1-4

Three years ago Fleet lost 10-0 to Ashford Town (Middlesex) in a terrible performance, things are moving in the right direction in all aspects of the club.

Fleet: 1. Harry Nash, 2. Dan Framp, 3. Charlie Graves, 4. Rowan Sharratt, 5. Steve Lee, 6. Brad Passfield, 7. Mal Thomas, 8. Leo Decarbo, 9. Dan Bone, 10. Billy Oram, 11. Taylor Watts

Subs: 12. Ralph Karumazondo (3), 13. Ryan Bone, 14. Jack Selby, 15. Matty Pearse (10), 16. Jack Howard (2)

Goals: Taylor Watts (80)

Man of Match:   Taylor Watts

Attendance: 135

Fleet’s next game of the season is Tuesday 27th October away at Fareham Town in the Sydenhams Wessex League Premier Division, kick off 7.45pm.