Fleet Town Win Southern Combination Cup Quarter Final

Fleet Town made their third trip of the season over to the Spectrum, a ground they have never won or even drawn at, to play Guildford City, this time in the Quarter Final of the Southern Combination Cup.

After a quiet start the game burst into life after 25 minutes, with four goals in fourteen minutes, firstly Nathaniel Mensah put Guildford ahead with a shot from twenty yards, Fleet levelled four minutes later through Shemar Pettet. Only thee minutes passed before Fleet took the lead with another wonder goal from Billy Oram, but after 39 minutes Gulidford were level with Mensah scoring again. The score remained at 2-2 through to half time.

Many times after such exciting first half, the second is a bit of an anti-climax, but not tonight, with the half less than ten minutes old Dan Bone scored to put Fleet back into the lead 3-2, fans had to wait a whole ten minutes for the next goal, Emeka Nwaubani ran through and fed the ball to Billy Oram to net his second of the game and extend Fleet’s lead to 4-2. After making a couple of changes it was the fresh legs of substitute Elliot Amadieu that sent more celebrations for the travelling Blues fans when he scored Fleet’s fifth on 74 minutes. With the outcome no longer in doubt the pace of the game slowed and by score of 5-2, Fleet Town completed their first ever win at the Spectrum to progress to the semi final, Fleet await the last quarter final to be played on 30th April to know if it is Reading City or Cobham (away) in the semi-final, to be played on a date to be arranged in May.

Fleet Town are back in action on Saturday with a Combined Counties League game at home to Horley, kick off at Calthorpe Park is 3pm, this will be the last home league game of the season, supporters at this game will be able to vote for their Fleet Town player of the season or see the clubs social media feeds o vote if you cannot make this game.

Fleet Town : 1 Roux Hardcastle, 2 Shemar Pettet, 3 James Dinsdale, 4 Rowan Sharratt, 5 Emeka Nwaubani, 6 Khalid Babikir, 7 Ryan Esprit,  Ben Maunders, 9 Dan Bone, 10 Billy Oram, 11 Kamdon Simmons.

Subs : 12 Alfie Neville, 14 Ellis McLean (on for Maunders 64 mins) , 15 Elliot Amadieu (on for Esprit 70 mins), 16 Matty Pearce (on for Simmons 78 mins), 17 Mack Vary