Highworth Town 4 Fleet Town 2

Fleet Town finished this season with another fine performance but returned pointless from Highworth in a game made difficult, especially in the first half, but the strong gusty winds of Storm Hannah.

Fleet had an early chance to strike from a free kick, although Bradley Wilson kept his direct shot low under the wind, home keeper Connor Johns was able to get down to make the save. Highworth took the lead after 14 minutes, when Jordan Young’s cross was turned into the net from the head of Ashley Edenborough. Fleet, looking to bounce back quickly, came close when Billy Oram played he ball through to Bradley Wilson, but his shot rose and cleared the bar. More Fleet pressure followed as Ross Ewen played in two dangerous crosses from the right, giving Bradley Wilson another chance, but Highworth were able to clear the danger and in only a few seconds were at the other end as Ashley Edenborough got the ball forward to Ediidia Mbunga, who shot wide and high. Sustained Fleet pressure saw them three corners in succession, but again, as they blocked the third corner, a quick counter attack from the home side with Jordan Young’s long ball collected by Sam Morris, as he prepared to shot a fine saving tackle from Daniel Framp cleared the danger. Half time came with the score 1-0 to the home side and all to play for.

With no chance of getting off the bottom of the table and no pressure on getting a result, Fleet came out for the second half and played some of their best flowing football of the season, a quick break saw Bradley Wilson make space for a shot, which was on target but saved by Connor Johns. Then it was Billy Oram running forward, a pass to the wing for Ross Ewen, who crossed to Enow Ojong who headed over. Enow Ojong collected the ball in midfield and ran into the box before sliding the ball past the home keeper to bring Fleet level after 58 minutes. Enow then tried to turn provider as his cross picked out Bradley Wilson, only to see the shot run disappointingly wide. Enow struggled on as long as he could, still suffering from the knock that cut his game short on Monday, he had to leave the action after 63 minutes. Highworth retook the lead on 68 minutes when a corner found its way to Wayne Turk who stabbed the ball into the roof of the net. Only four minutes later Fleet were level again a ball down the middle to Bradley Wilson, he drove into the box before rifling the ball in. Fleet though were only level for thirty seconds a cross from Dan Drewett being headed in by Jordan Young. Fleet pressed hard for another equaliser, Kofi Halliday’s shot was on target before being deflected for a corner, Bradley Wilson burst through again with a clear opening, before he was pulled back by Leon Morrison, an action which resulted in Morrison being shown a straight Red card. Although Fleet had the free kick in a dangerous position, it gave Highworth the time to pack the area, Kofi Halliday took the kick, but his effort flew wide. With Fleet chasing the deserved equaliser they left gaps at the back a long clearance upfield was collected by Jordan Young he burst into the box for a 1-on-1 with Fleet keeper James Stroud who pulled of a fine save to keep Fleet’s hopes of a point alive, but after more pressure, deep into added time another breakout by Highworth was played onto Dan Drewett who closed in on goal and hit the ball through Stroud and saw it trickle over the line for Highworth’s 4th goal after 93 minutes. As Fleet kicked off again the final whistle blew and the season was over. Although 20th in the table on playing results, Fleet Town are in de facto 19th place following the resignation of Street FC, who will be placed to the bottom of the table by the league.

All fans and supporters will be able to show their thanks supports to the players at the end of season awards on Friday 17th May, check the clubs website and social media feeds nearer the time for full details and timings.

Fleet Town : 1 James Stroud, 2 Ross Ewen, 3 Callum Abraham-Barlow, 4 Sam Williams, 5 Daniel Framp, 6 Cavan Atkinson, 7 Bradley Wilson, 8 Jack Selby, 9 Enow Ojong, 10 Billy Oram, 11 Kofi Halliday.

subs : 12 Layto Avenell (on for Ewen 75 mins), 15 Matthew Pearse (on for Selby 82 mins), 16 Lewis Wall (on for Ojong 63 mins)

not used 14 Kieran Ngale-Kelly, 17 Stuart Derry.