Knaphill 4 Fleet Town 2

Fleet Town exited the Aldershot Senior Cup at the Semi-Final stage to Combined Counties Premier side Knaphill on Tuesday night. The game had started well for Fleet forcing a corner after four minutes, the ball played into a crowded area, Fleet got in three shots cleared off the line before Billy Oram found the gap to stab the ball over the line to put Fleet ahead after five minutes. Clear chances were at a premium for the rest of the first half, Fleet playing the better in open play, with Layton Avenell throwing himself into the thick of the action and tackles, providing openings in the box for Kofi Halliday and Ronan Silva, while Knaphill were looking more dangerous from set plays, a string of corners and a couple of free kicks, it was one of these free kicks that got the home side back into the game, taken by Jack Collins from 25 yards, despite the dive of Harrison Button touching the ball, he could not get enough on it to stop the ball flying into the back of the net. Fleet’s best chance to retake the lead before the break saw Billy Oram meet a cross from Ronan Silva but the shot rose over the bar.

The second half saw the home side on the attack from the start and within a minute Harry Rapley had driven into the box and fired the ball past Button inside the near post, to put Knaphill in front. After 57 minutes, Jacob McDonald found the space in the box to fire home another goal for Knaphill. At 3-1 Knaphill took the foot off the gas and let Fleet get more of the ball and Kofi Halliday made the most of the space he was given, fed by Callum Abraham-Barlow, he made run after run from midfield to the box or down the wing, keeping Kevin Wheeler busy in goal and had one of his crosses strike the post. Fleet’s pressure finally paid off when Enow Ojong was waiting at the far post to convert a cross into the net, but it took until 87 minutes to bring the score back to 3-2, as Fleet pressed for the late equaliser a quick break downfield and an untidy challenge was seen by the officials as a foul and Knaphill were given a Penalty, taken by Jack Collins he powered the ball home to seal the win for Knaphill, as Fleet kicked off again the final whistle blew.

Fleet Town : 1 Harrison Button, 2 Daniel Framp, 3 Callum Abraham-Barlow, 4 Sam Williams, 5 Edwin Plackett, 6 Cavan Atkinson, 7 Layton Avenell, 8 Ronan Silva, 9 Billy Oram, 10 Jack Selby, 11 Kofi Halliday.

subs : 12 Harryson Wickens (on for Oram 74 mins), 14 Enow Ojong (on for Silva HT), 17 Ross Ewen (on for Avenell 60 mins), not used 15 Kieran Ngale-Kelly, 16 Matthew Pearse.